Patrons  Staff 

  • Search Catalog
BCCLS

77 Public Libraries in NJ's Bergen, Essex, Hudson, and Passaic Counties

 

Mouse over any of the options above to learn more.

Mouse over any of the options above to learn more.

Join the Conversation

Cobalt
News from the BCCLS office

BCCLS Adults
Everything relevant to adult services

BCCLS Events
Learn about events in BCCLS libraries

BCCLS Shelf
Discuss collection development

BCCLS Youth
Everything relevant to youth services

cHQ Chat
Discuss collectionHQ tips, tricks, etc.

Circ Desks
Everything relevant to circulation

Giveaways
Find a home for giveaway items.

Job Share
Job opportunities to share with the public.

Polaris Share
Discuss Polaris tips, tricks, etc.

Surveys
Share your questions with BCCLS

Technical Services
Discuss SkyRiver submissions, linking, processing, etc.

Invite an Author

Every month, we highlight an author in an initiative called "BCCLS Invite an Author". Many of these authors are happy to visit BCCLS libraries to chat with your book clubs or present programs either in person or via Skype. You can email them directly for more information or to schedule a library visit.

Previous Authors

March 2013

Donna Thorland

Photo © Peter Podgursky.

Name:

   Donna Thorland

Email:

     donnathorland@verizon.net

Web Site:

Book:


Letter of Introduction:

Dear Colleagues:

I confess to being very excited about our March author.

She is a BCCLS native with very fond words about our libraries:

“The Bergen County Libraries were hugely important to me growing up--I would never have gone to Yale or USC or become an author without them. My mom and I used to go to Bergenfield, Teaneck, Paramus and Tenafly all the time and at 80, she still goes to Bergenfield once a week. They're an amazing resource.”

Are we smitten yet?

It is my great pleasure to present Donna Thorland as BCCLS Invite an Author for March 2013.

A native of Bergenfield, New Jersey, Donna attended Saddle River Day School and graduated from Yale with a degree in Classics and Art History and then moved to Boston. For many years she managed architecture and interpretation at the Peabody Essex Museum in Salem, and wrote and directed the Witch City’s most popular Halloween theater festival, Eerie Events. She earned an MFA in film production from the USC School of Cinematic Arts, where she produced several award winning films. Donna has been a sorority housemother, a Disney/ABC Television Writing Fellow, a WGA Writer’s Access Project Honoree, and a staff writer on the ABC primetime drama, Cupid. Her screenwriting credits include episodes of the animated series, Tron: Uprising. Her short fiction has appeared in Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine and Albedo One. The director of several award-winning short films, her most recent project, The Night Caller, aired on WNET Channel 13 and was featured on Ain’t It Cool News. She is married with one cat and divides her time between Los Angeles and Salem.

Donna’s new book, (release date March 5) is THE TURNCOAT, the story is set in decadent, occupied Philadelphia during the winter of 1777 and is a swashbuckling tale of romance, war, and espionage.

"…Thorland’s first novel is a surprising and engrossing tale. Immersing the reader in 1777 Philadelphia, sweeping from decadent high-society balls to the filth of battlefield infirmaries.  Thorland exhibits real passion for the time period.  Fans of Philippa Gregory and Loretta Chase will find THE TURNCOAT a thrilling read."

Booklist

I have some copies, thanks to Donna’s publisher, which are available to first requesters.

Though Donna doesn’t live in the area, she visits Bergen County regularly so don’t hesitate to invite her to your library.  She’ll work with you on a mutually agreeable date.  There is no fee for a visit from Donna.  In fact, she says, “I would definitely NOT charge libraries for visits. And I probably still owe Bergenfield Public 50 cents from 1987, so I might end up having to pay them...” 

And to that end, Bergenfield PL has already books Donna for a visit sponsored by the Bergenfield Friends on March 17 at 2pm.  Mary Riskind, Bergenfield Director, invites you all to come to the library for Donna’s visit.  C’mon, it’s St. Patrick’s Day, Mary will have Irish soda bread, I’m sure.

I hope you are as enchanted as I am and will keep Donna on your radar for a visit. Please contact her directly at:  donnathorland@verizon.net

Warmest regards,

Arlene